A Richness of Martins*

My dad has passed away – 3 weeks and 3 days after being given just a few days to live.  His strength of character was remarkable, and I appreciated more than can be said being able to spend so much time with him before he passed.  We were grateful for every day and minute, time that was only possible because he was so determined.

Please be aware of the early signs of bowel cancer so that somebody you love is not taken from you before their time.  If you can, please help to raise awareness by donating to Beating Bowel Cancer or purchasing a Project Dissimulation badge or zine from the TangleStore.  Thank you.

* A richness of martins is the traditional collective noun for the martin, a bird from the swallow family.  In case it’s not obvious, Martin was also my dad’s name.

5 thoughts on “A Richness of Martins*

  1. Thank you. It’s horrible to think he is no longer here, but I spent time with him beforehand, more than I could have hoped, and the memories will last forever. He was pretty amazing and I loved him a lot.

  2. He will live on in the way you live your life from this point on and in the stories you tell about him. My family was big on telling stories about family, so I have a verbal history of several generations of my family. I have passed those stories on to my kids and hopefully they will pass those stories on and add my story to the list when I am gone. I am glad that you got to spend time with him before he passed, it does help to ease the pain to have good memories to hold on to!

Leave a Reply

