Getting back to business cards

I feel kind of bad about my lack of posts since the house-move, but in my defence, that’s only because I’ve honestly been working non-stop.  I have several new projects backed up to tell you about, but for various reasons, I need to leave it a short while before I do so.

Things may also continue to be relatively quiet for the next couple of months, as it looks like I have a craft fair coming up, which will take a lot of preparation, as everything has changed since my last foray in that direction.  But first things first, the prospective fair reminded me it’s about time I sorted out some business cards, which I haven’t had any of since…well, the last craft fair…

What I did was pretty basic, and I’m sure not especially new, but it made sense to me in current circumstances, and I thought I would share the very easy process for anyone else looking to make some quick & easy business cards.

The first thing I didn’t want to do was buy fresh, clean cardstock because that just wouldn’t match the way I run this business.  My printer is also pretty selective when it comes to the cardstock it chooses to feed through & print onto.  The answer, I decided was to print onto paper, instead.  (Incidentally, if you read my earlier post about paper, I can happily report that the sugar paper experiment has been successful, and I am very happy with the results I’ve had with it.)

business card cutoutNow obviously, paper is a bit flimsy for a business card (otherwise it would be called a business paper, wouldn’t it?).  So all I did was cut some scrap card to size and glue it to the reverse of the paper.  Told you it was easy, didn’t I?  I used ink cartridge boxes because it was what I had to hand (my printer & I get through lots of ink cartridges, and while I can recycle the used cartridges themselves at various places, it’s nice to have an actual use for the boxes).  But you could use anything, from cereal boxes to greeting cards.

business cardsAs I want the cards to double as D.I.Y. weaving looms, using scrap card like this is perfectly suited, as the resulting card is far sturdier than your average business card.  My previous business cards were double-sided, and if you want your cards to be double-sided, all you need to do is print a reverse for your card, and glue it to the reverse of your scrap card.  This time around, though, I decided it would be more economical in terms of ink usage to have all the information I wanted on just one side of the card.  I also like the fact that the reverse of every card will be different :-).

Leave a Reply

