Bizarre Bazaar (not really, but it was fun!)

Well, the Bazaar has finally been and gone.  I’m happy to say that although this last week has been a bit of a mad rush, essential materials didn’t arrive until the day before, and I didn’t manage to finish a lot of the things that I had planned, I had a really good day.

I had hoped to have more finished woven pieces, and a wider range of kits available, but time went against me, and I was still finishing things off as I was sitting at the stall.  It would be fair to say that I felt very much as though my stall was a work in progress!  However, I in response to what I had managed to finish, I received a lot of positive feedback from both the public and other vendors, which made me feel very positive about continuing in a similar direction, further developing the ideas I didn’t quite have time to see through this time around.

I was also approached for a potential commission piece.  It would involve working to a much larger scale than my usual work, but it could be a lot of fun, and I have had various ideas that I would like to explore, already.

All in all, I really enjoyed the Bazaar experience.  The footfall could have been higher, and I think most of the vendors felt the effects on spending of the current economic climate.  But the Bazaar visitors, as a whole, were very interested in what individual vendors were working on and with, and the conversations I had with those passing through were as valuable to me as anything else.

I’m looking forward to the next event, already!

Leave a Reply

