Spreading the Word & Time to Think

My ‘day job’ is working for  the biggest chain book store in the UK, which I’ve done for the last 12 or more (count ’em!) years.  Reading is that thing I do, when I’m not stitching.  One of the perks of the job is that we often get advance copies of new books (although these aren’t available for ALL titles).  I go on the local BBC radio once a month to talk about new fiction titles, I review for the company’s quarterly, national magazine, and I produce a bi-monthly local store newsletter, too.

All of these things focus on fiction, but I thought it would be nice come Autumn to do a special edition newsletter, specificaly on craft books, because there are some great books out there, but it’s not something our stores are generally very big on.  So I decided to be a bit cheeky, and contacted Search Press, asking if they would be able to supply an advance copy of one of their new titles, for review.  Before I knew it, they had contacted our head office & asked if my newsletter could have wider distribution, & head office contacted me to say that was a great idea.


So today I have a long day trip to Brentford, where amongst other things I will be able to discuss the distribution (&, I hope, growth) of the newsletter , which in turn may lead to a nationwide expansion of interesting books available in the craft section of your localbook store!  I had no idea my little email would have quite such a domino effect, but it’s all very exciting!


One of the best parts of today for me, tough, is that (despite the early start!) it means I will have literally hours on the train in which I can just create head-space & think.  What luxury!  Okay, perhaps I will do a little  stitching, too, but to be honest, it’s a luxury to have time to do that, too…


I’m very excited about the newsletter, though.  It may only be a newsletter, but it’s a way to combine my two loves in my paid work.I really can’t complain about that!

One thought on “Spreading the Word & Time to Think

  1. Wow, how awesome! Just stumbled on your blog and what a great idea. I thought I was busy, but man are you a seriously busy woman. Congrats and good luck!

Leave a Reply

